Engineering for your state, your community, your life.

Committees

Join a committee and make the most of your membership in ACEC/MN. 

As a committee member you will: 

  • Build your skill base
  • Hone your leadership skills
  • Choose your level of commitment
  • Network with talented and diverse group of colleagues
  • Work with other organizations that enhance your skills including Toastmasters, AIA, CASE, etc.

If you are interested, please contact the ACEC/MN office. 

Awards Committee

Chair: Kristine Cassidy
ACEC/MN
Kristine@acecmn.org

Assists the ACEC/MN staff with the planning, communication and execution of the Engineering Excellence Awards Competition including banquet logistics, selection of judges, entry reviews, etc.

Board of Registration Liaison

Chair: Dave Oxley
ACEC/MN
doxley@acecmn.org

Maintains relationship with State Board of Registration and review board actions and provide feedback.

Building Engineering and Construction Conference Planning

Chair: Rick Lucio
Hallberg Engineering
rlucio@hallbergengineering.com 

Conference purpose is to provide additional value to members in the mechanical, electrical, and structural vertical construction markets. Planning committee will focus on educational offerings, a social event to improve services, and networking with potential clients and member firms.

Business Practices Committee (Finance & HR)


Chair: Jamie DeWitte
SRF Consulting Group, Inc.
jdewitee@srfconsulting.com  

Vice Chair: Doug Luick
Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
doug_luick@aja.com 

Vice Chair: Tom Losey
BOULAY, CPA & Advisors
tlosey@boulaygroup.com 

Discusses HR best practices and issues of concern to member firms as well as Identifies and develops programs, materials, and services related to Finance (Accounting, Banking, Tax). The committee includes internal discussions and outside speakers, office practices policies, employee-management, standards of performance.

Emerging Professionals Committee

Co-Chair: James Lundequam
LHB
james.lundequam@lhbcorp.com

Co-Chair: Stefanie Massignan
American Engineering Testing, Inc.
smassignan@amengtest.com 

Plans events for younger members to encourage involvement in ACEC/MN activities and develop professional skills. Activities include social, educational and outreach events.

Energy & Natural Resources Committee

Chair: Bill Forsmark
Barr Engineering Co.
wforsmark@barr.com 

Vice Chair: Jason Hoskins
Ulteig Engineers
jason.hoskins@ulteig.com 

This committee represents, advocates and supports members and clients around energy and energy infrastructure issues.

Ethical Practices & Professional Conduct Committee

Reviews, investigates and makes recommendations regarding ethical practices of engineers and firms.

Environmental Committee

Chair: Bill Meyer
Hanson Professional Services, Inc.
bmeyer@hanson-inc.com  

Identify the environmental challenges that face our industry, provide timely information to members, assist lobbying efforts of ACEC, and work to better focus public entities on performance, consistency, and compatibility.

Legislative Committee

Chair: Jim Manning
Gausman & Moore
jmanning@gausman.com 

Determines ACEC/MN legislative positions and activities with input and direction from the Board of Directors and lobbyist. Maintains a proactive position with the state legislature on appropriate issues.

Membership Committee

Chair: Dan Murphy
Meyer Borgman Johnson
dmurphy@mbjeng.com 

Vice Chair: Tim Korby
Donohue & Associates, Inc.
tkorby@donohu-associates.com 

Recruits new members, reviews membership applications and develops membership retention programs. Also works with ACEC/MN staff on member communication.

Minnesota Structural Engineers Association (MNSEA)

Chair: Mustafa Igdelioglu
Barr Engineering Co.
migdelioglu@barr.com 

Provides a forum to improve the quality and practice of structural engineering. Provides an effective means of educating clients, building officials, the legal profession and others regarding our responsibilities and inherent liabilities on projects.

MNSEA Young Member Group

Chair: Steve Sletten
Larson Engineering 
ssletten@larsonengr.com  

Hosts seminars, site visits, and social events to encourage professional networking and assist young structural engineers with the transition from college into the industry.

Public Relations Committee 

Chair: Rebecca Wegsheid
American Engineering Testing, Inc.
rwegsheid@amengtest.com 

Kara Pritchett
Braun Intertec Corporation
kpritchett@braunintertec.com 

Develops topic ideas and content for client newsletter Framework, coordinates external media relations’ efforts, and handles all outreach activities.

Procurement Committee

Co-chair: Jack Corkle
WSB and Associates, Inc.
jcorkle@wsbeng.com

Co-chair: Mark Dierling
Short Elliott Hendrickson, Inc.
mdierling@sehinc.com 

Promotes QBS and other relevant procurement practices to state, county, and local government and client groups.

Risk Management Committee

Chair: Kathleen John
Meyer Borgman Johnson
kjohn@mbjeng,com 

Focuses on the financial, legal, operational, and IT aspects of risk management. We anticipate the most benefit for this committee to come from the following areas of the ACEC/MN membership; VP Finance, Operations Managers, Senior Project Managers, Contract Administrators, attorneys (affiliate and firm), IT managers, etc.

Scholarship Committee

Chair: Ben Holbrook
Braun Intertec Corporation
bholbrook@braunintertec.com 

Coordinates ACEC/MN scholarship program, generates fundraising efforts, develops selection criteria, conducts interviews and awards scholarships.

Scholarship Golf Committee

Chair: Derek Newbauer
Kimley-Horn & Associates
derek.newbauer@kimley-horn.com

Vice Chair: Ben Lucas
Sambatek
blucas@sambatek.com 

Assists the ACEC/MN staff with the planning, communication and execution of the scholarship golf tournament including format, sponsors, budget, etc.

Stormwater Committee

Chair: Open

Addresses issues facing firms in the stormwater field. Maintain contacts with the MPCA and other organizations involved in the field.

Transportation Committee

Chair: Michelle Julius
AECOM
michelle.julius@aecom 

Vice Chair: John Crawford
Kimley-Horn
john.crawfors@kimlye-horn.com 

Develops positions on transportation issues, maintains liaisons with public agencies and monitors transportation activities.

Water Resources Committee

Chair: Larry Van Hout
Widseth Smith Nolting & Associates
larry.vanhout@wsn.us.com

Addresses issues facing firms in the water and wastewater field. Maintain contacts with agencies including the MPCA and Department of Health.

Workforce Development Committee

Co-Chair: Ricky Kirchner
BKBM Engineers
rkirchner@bkbm.com 

Co-Chair: Jon Wacker
HGA Architects and Engineers
jwacker@hga.com

The Workforce Development Committee aims to positively impact the number of students pursuing engineering degrees and engage, retain, and cultivate an increasingly diverse membership within the organization.