Join us on Facebook Join us on Linked In Join us on Twitter RSS Feeds

Engineering for your state, your community, your life.



Committees

Join a committee and make the most of your membership in ACEC/MN.

As a committee member you will:

  • Build your skill base
  • Hone your leadership skills
  • Choose your level of commitment
  • Network with talented and diverse group of colleagues
  • Work with other organizations that enhance your skills including Toastmasters, AIA, CASE, etc.

If you are interested, please download and complete form here.

 

Awards Committee

Chair: Kristine Cassidy
ACEC/MN
Kristine@acecmn.org

Assists the ACEC/MN staff with the planning, communication and execution of the Engineering Excellence Awards Competition including banquet logistics, selection of judges, entry reviews, etc.

Board of Registration Liaison


Chair: Dave Oxley
ACEC/MN
doxley@acecmn.org

Maintains relationship with State Board of Registration and review board actions and provide feedback.

Minnesota Structural Engineers Association (MNSEA)


Chair: Mike Manor
Mattson MacDonald Young, Inc.
MikeM@mattsonmcdonald.com

Provides a forum to improve the quality and practice of structural engineering. Provides an effective means of educating clients, building officials, the legal profession and others regarding our responsibilities and inherent liabilities on projects.


Program Committees

Chair: Melissa Langowski
ACEC/MN
melissa@acecmn.org

Selects topics and plans monthly continuing education programs; liaison with technical schools and colleges and universities in Minnesota.


Emerging Professionals Committee

Chair: Bridget Osborn
HR Green, Inc.
bosborn@hrgreen.com

Plan events for younger members to encourage involvement in ACEC/MN activities and develop professional skills. Activities include social, educational and outreach events.

Energy Initiatives Committee


Chair: Jeff Seewald
Sebesta Blomberg, Inc.
jseewald@sebesta.com

This committee represents, advocates and supports members and clients around energy and energy infrastructure issues.

Ethical Practices & Professional Conduct Committee

 

Reviews, investigates and makes recommendations regarding ethical practices of engineers and firms.

Finance Committee

Chair: Dean Gratz
TKDA
dean.gratz@tkda.com

Identifies and develops programs, materials and services related to the Finance (Accounting, Banking, Tax) and Risk Management (Insurance, Public/Regulatory) areas that are focused on member needs, best practices and relevant issues.

Human Resources Committee

Chair: Kristi Spindler
HDR
kristi.spindler@hdrinc.com

Discuss HR best practices and issues of concern to member firms. The forum includes both internal discussions and outside speakers. Discuss office practices policies, employee-management relationships and standards of performance.


Legislative Committee

Chair: Mark Jaster
Barr Engineering
mjaster@barr.com

Determines ACEC/MN legislative positions and activities with input and direction from the Board of Directors and lobbyist. Maintains a proactive position with the state legislature on appropriate issues.

Membership Committee

 

Chair: Gene Sieve
Burns & McDonnell
gsieve@burnsmcd.com

Recruit new members, review membership applications and develop membership retention programs. Also works with ACEC/MN staff on member communication.

Public Relations Committee


Chair: Jody Elam-Foote
ATS&R
jelamfoote@atsr.com

 

Develop topic ideas and content for client newsletter Framework, coordinate external media relations’ efforts and handle all outreach activities.

Procurement Committee


Chair: Dave Oxley
ACEC/MN
doxley@acecmn.org

 

Promotes QBS and other relevant procurement practices to state, county, and local government and client groups.

Scholarship Committee


Chair: David Knaeble
Pierce Pini & Associates
david@piercepini.com

Coordinates ACEC/MN scholarship program, generates fundraising efforts, develops selection criteria, conducts interviews and awards scholarships.


Scholarship Golf Committee

Chair: Derek Newbauer
Kimley-Horn & Associates
derek.newbauer@kimley-horn.com

Assists the ACEC/MN staff with the planning, communication and execution of the scholarship golf tournament including format, sponsors, budget, etc.


Stormwater Committee

Della Young
Burns & McDonnell
dnsyoung@burnsmcd.com

Addresses issues facing firms in the stormwater field. Maintain contacts with the MPCA and other organizaations involved in the field.


Transportation Committee

Chair: Randy Geerdes
SRF Consulting Group
rgeerdes@srfconsulting.com

Develops positions on transportation issues, maintains liaisons with public agencies and monitors transportation activities.

Water Resources Committee


Chair: Larry Van Hout
Widseth Smith Nolting & Associates
larry.vanhout@wsn.us.com

Addresses issues facing firms in the water and wastewater field. Maintain contacts with agencies including the MPCA and Department of Health.