Engineering for your state, your community, your life.

Scholarship Program

ACEC/MN is now accepting scholarship applications for the 2018-19 academic year. Applications are due in the ACEC/MN office by November 2, 2017, by 12:00 pm. Please note, the recommendation form is due by October 26, 2017.

2018-19 Scholarship Application Form
2018-19 Scholarship Recommendation Form

ACEC/MN scholarships are made possible by the generous donations from ACEC member firms as well as firms that participate in the annual softball and golf tournaments. In the fall, the ACEC/MN scholarship committee reviews applications from engineering students around the state. They rank the students based on their leadership skills, academic achievement, school and community activities, work experience and their understanding of the consulting engineering profession. These scholarships are then presented to the top-ranked students at the ACEC/MN Engineering Excellence Awards banquet.

Last year, ACEC/MN awarded $24,000 through 10 scholarships ranging from $2,000 - $3,500. These scholarships are made possible by direct donations from ACEC/MN firms and fundraising events.  Five special scholarships will be awarded this year:

· $3,500 Don Stormoe Geotechnical Scholarship (to a student with a geotechnical focus)
· $3,000 Cameron Kruse Scholarship (to a student with a Geotechnical or Environmental focus)
· $2,500 ACEC/MN Scholarship partnered with VAA (Golf Tournament Title Sponsor)
· The Bob Rosene Scholarship (to a student with a civil focus)
· The Earl Oxley Scholarship (to the top-qualifying candidate)

To qualify a student must be:
- Pursuing a bachelor's degree in an Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology (ABET) approved engineering program or land surveying program in Minnesota.
- Entering their junior, senior, fifth year or pursuing a Master's in the fall of 2018 to qualify.
- A U.S. citizen

If you have any questions regarding the scholarship program, please contact Melissa Langowski at

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota (ACEC/MN) awarded ten engineering scholarships totaling $24,000 at the Engineering Excellence Awards Banquet on January 27, 2017. These annual scholarship awards are given to students based on their leadership skills, school involvement, community activities, work experience, academic achievement and their understanding of the consulting engineering profession.

The 2017-18 ACEC/MN scholarship recipients are:

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Henry Croll, Civil Engineering (Alliant Engineering, Inc. Scholarship)
Noah Germolus, Environmental Engineering
Matthew Kluthe, Civil Engineering 
Tessa Nordman, Civil Engineering (Don Stormoe Scholarship)
Rena Weis, Environmental Engineering (Earl Oxley Scholarship)

University of Minnesota, Duluth
Matthew McDermott, Civil Engineering (Bob Rosene Scholarship)                                                                   
Ashley Murr, Civil Engineering

Minnesota State University-Mankato
Isabelle Race, Civil Engineering
Austin Rieder, Civil Engineering

St. Cloud State University
Tyler Pogreba, Land Surveying & Mapping                                                                       

Scholarship Winners 2_resize

Endowment Program

ACEC/MN and affiliate member Hiway Federal Credit Union (Hiway) created a joint endowment strategy designed to sustain funding for the ACEC/MN scholarship program.
Hiway launched the endowment effort with an initial contribution of $5,000, with ACEC/MN matching the amount. But that’s just the beginning of a campaign that has the potential to generate $200,000 in contributions to the fund over the next 10 years.

The development of this fund meets two important scholarship committee goals: the first being the creation of a self-sustaining source for scholarship funds, and the second being a way to make participation in that funding source easily accessible to all members’ firms and their employees.

Hiway’s endowment donations will be triggered by credit union financial transactions, such as loans or deposits, by ACEC/MN member firms or their employees. The larger the value of the ACEC/MN member loans and deposits with Hiway, the greater the endowment contribution.

“Hiway is honored and excited to partner with ACEC/MN in such a meaningful endeavor, with lasting impact,” recognizes Hiway President David Boden. “Serving the engineering community in Minnesota has been at Hiway’s very core for over 80 years and the development of an endowment fund is a very exciting way for us to continue to support and serve this industry.”

The endowment fund provides a new way for ACEC/MN members to play an active and impactful role in supporting and sustaining our scholarship program. To learn how you can help support the ACEC/MN Scholarship Endowment by becoming Hiway member call Mark Hodowanic at 651.259.6456 or email