Engineering for your state, your community, your life.

2017-18 Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsoring the Engineering Excellence Awards (EEA) is an excellent opportunity to promote your organization’s services and show your support for ACEC/MN’s biggest event of the year. This year we have created the Circle of Excellence sponsorship level, which includes a complimentary table of 10, additional recognition on event signage, and special promotion via social media before and after the event. See the enclosed document for sponsorship levels and benefits.

As a sponsor, your firm will receive recognition and exposure in a variety of ways before, during, and after the event including:

·         Event program and signage
·         Framework Client newsletter  
·         Parameters member newsletter
·         Assets, ACEC/MN’s Membership Directory distributed to members and several member client groups (nearly 3,000 engineers and purchasers of engineering services)
·         ACEC/MN website
·         Special recognition during the awards presentation

Click here for the sponsorship breakdown, which includes sponsorship levels and benefits. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor of this event, please complete the sponsorship breakdown form and return it to Kristine Cassidy by Monday, December 11. 

2016-17 ACEC/MN Engineering Excellence Awards

Web Button Invitation1

ACEC/MN celebrated its 50th Anniversary of the Engineering Excellence Awards and held its annual banquet on January 27, 2017.
The banquet drew almost 400 attendees to the Marriott Minneapolis Northwest in Brooklyn Center - the most in recent history. The evening began with Master of Ceremonies Wendy Nemitz, of Nemitz Enterprises, welcoming members, clients and guests to the event, followed by a brief address from current President Dan Murphy, PE of Meyer Borgman Johnson. See the bottom of this page for an event photo gallery.

The Engineering Excellence Awards Program recognizes engineering achievements that exhibit the highest degree of merit and ingenuity. Entries are judged based on originality and innovation; future value to the engineering profession; social, economic and sustainable design considerations; complexity; and meeting the client’s needs.

Over 1,000 projects have been entered into the competition over the past 50 years. This year 36 projects were submitted into the completion by 22 firms. The Grand Conceptor Award, designed to recognize the highest scoring project based on raw scores, was awarded to HGA Architects and Engineers for their Ordway Center Concert Hall Expansion.

The People’s Choice prize awarded to the firm that received the highest number of votes by those who attended the awards banquet. The 2017 People’s Choice Winner was Stantec for The Central Park Fountain and Ice Skating Loop project.

The 2017 Engineering Excellence Grand Award winners are:

Firm and project:
Alliant Engineering, Inc. – I-35 E MnPASS Design-Build
American Engineering Testing, Inc. – U.S. Bank Stadium
Barr Engineering Co. – West River Parkway High-Profile Landslide Repair
Dunham Associates, Inc. – OATI Microgrid Technology Center
HGA Architects and Engineers – Ordway Center Concert Hall Expansion
HNTB Corporation – The Historic Franklin Avenue Bridge Rehabilitation
Short Elliott Hendrickson Inc. – I-35W and Highway 96 Interchange Project
SRF Consulting Group, Inc – Old Cedar Avenue Bridge Rehabilitation
Stanley Consultants, Inc. – Lake Delhi Dam
Stantec – The Central Park Fountain and Ice Skating Loop
WSB & Associates, Inc. – Elm Creek Dam

Thank you to our 50th Anniversary Sponsors! **To see a complete list of event sponsors, scroll down.

 Vertical_Alliant Engineering    AET-Color-Logo (1)    Bolton-Menk_cmyk      braun logo   KimleyHorn_MD_LOGO_PRIMARY_JPGStantec Logo - color   TKDA_HorizLogo-RGB      WSB Logo

The evening also recognized the 2017-18 ACEC/MN scholarship recipients, presented by committee chair Mark Hodowanic of HIWAY Federal Credit Union. The Scholarship Committee distributed ten scholarships totaling $24,000.

Here are our 2017 Honor Award winners:

Alliant Engineering, Inc. - Bloomington Local Road Wayfinding
American Engineering Testing, Inc. and Anderson Companies - Hamline Station Apartments
Bolton & Menk, Inc. - Belle Plaine Overpass
Bolton & Menk, Inc. - Sleepy Eye Lake Trail Project Phase 2
Bolton & Menk, Inc. - Trunk Highway 25 Downtown Corridor Improvements
Bolton & Menk, Inc. - Trunk Highway 61/Main Street Reconstruction
Bolton & Menk, Inc. - Waconia Fountain Park Storm Water Management Improvements
Bolton & Menk, Inc. - Water Treatment Backwash Reclamation Project
Braun Intertec Corporation - TH 53 Temporary Rock Causeway
CDM Smith - Esko Pump Station Reconstruction    
Clark Engineering - Biogas Leeuwarden
Clark Engineering - Seward Montessori School
Clark Engineering - Southwest High School
HDR - MnDOT Strategic Communications for Statewide Plan
Houston Engineering, Inc. - Grand Marais Creek Channel Restoration
Kadmas Lee & Jackson, Inc. and Continental Mapping Consultants, Inc.
Kimley-Horn - The A Line Bus Rapid Transit
MSA Professionals Services, Inc. - Duluth's Grand Finale: Lift Station #8
Short Elliot Hendrickson (SEH) - Southwest Reconnection Project - Carver County, MN
Short Elliot Hendrickson (SEH) - Spring Lake Park Reserve
Short Elliot Hendrickson (SEH) - Uptown 2nd Street SW Reconstruction
Stantec - Minnesota State Veteran's Cemetery - Preston
TKDA - Nokomis-Minnesota River Regional Trail
Wenck - The Cottageville Park Project
WSB & Associates, Inc. - St. Anthony Regional Stormwater Treatment and Research System

Thank you to our 2016 Banquet Sponsors and Contributors:


Alliant Engineering, Inc.
American Engineering Testing, Inc.
Bolton & Menk, Inc.
Braun Intertec Corporation
WSB & Associates, Inc.

Barr Engineering Co.
BOULAY, CPAs & Advisors
Heley, Duncan & Melander, PLLP
HIWAY Federal Credit Union
HR Green
Meagher & Geer, PLLP
Meyer Borgamn Johnson
Short Elliott Hendrickson Inc.
SRF Consulting Group, Inc.
The Coleman Law Firm, LLC

ACEC Life/Health Trust Insurance
Brown and Caldwell
Clark Engineering
DeWitt Mackall Crounse & Moore, S.C.
H. Robert Anderson & Associates, Inc.
Kubes Law Office, PLLC
Michaud Cooley Erickson
Stanley Consultants, Inc.


Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
Cobb, Strecker, Dunphy, & Zimmerman, Inc.
Concrete Paving Association of Minnesota
Dennis J. Linder & Associates
Marriott Minneapolis Northwest
Marriott Minneapolis West
Minnesota Asphalt Pavement Association
Minnesota Builders Exchange
MSA Professional Services, Inc.
Oak Marsh Golf Course

A special thank you to the following:
ARC Document Solutions - Signage
Finance & Commerce - Media
Northern Technologies, LLC - Design
The First Impression Group - Printing


2017 Engineering Excellence Awards Banquet

Below are photos taken at the January 27, 2017 awards banquet held at Marriott Minneapolis Northwest.